In Texas, a conviction for DWI (also known as DUI) on your record can lead to a whole host of legal penalties, administrative penalties, and collateral consequences. One of the legal penalties that a judge might impose includes mandatory participation in an alcohol rehabilitation and education program.
Of course, the best way to escape legal penalties in a DWI/DUI case is to avoid a conviction in the first place. To increase your chances of securing a charge dismissal – or reduced penalties and collateral consequences upon conviction – always retain skilled legal counsel to represent you in your case as quickly as possible.
The criminal defense lawyers at the Law Office of David D. White, PLLC, in Austin could enter an appearance on your behalf and work to secure the best possible result in your case. We could help you raise one or more legal defenses to your pending charge, negotiate with the state prosecutor on your behalf, or represent you at your sentencing hearing before a judge. Our goal is to help you secure the best possible result in your criminal legal matter.
For a free case evaluation and legal consultation with a knowledgeable Austin criminal defense attorney, please reach out today for help.
Most passenger vehicle drivers are legally intoxicated if their blood alcohol concentration (BAC) measures 0.08 percent or higher. However, a zero-tolerance policy is in place for underage drivers (drivers under 21 years of age).
For you to ultimately incur a criminal conviction for a drunk driving offense, the Texas state prosecutor must satisfy their legal burden of proof beyond a reasonable doubt. In other words, they have to show that you operated a motor vehicle while you were illegally under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
If the state prosecutor is able to establish their legal burden, and they obtain a conviction against you, your case will go before a sentencing judge. At that time, the judge may impose various penalties against you in accordance with the Texas Penal Code. For a first-time offense, potential penalties may include a maximum monetary fine of $2,000, a maximum of one year without a driver’s license, and a maximum of 180 days in jail, including a mandatory three days.
If you have subsequent DWI/DUI offenses on your record, however, you may incur additional penalties. You may also have to pay state fines of $3,000, $4,500, or $6,000, which are assessed during sentencing.
In addition to the potential fines and other penalties for a DWI conviction, a drunk driver may have to participate in a court-ordered alcohol rehabilitation and education program. In many cases, criminal court judges will sentence first-time offenders to complete one of these programs.
The standard programs are usually around 12 hours long, and each program has several goals. Some of the most common goals associated with alcohol rehabilitation programs in Texas include:
Common topics covered during the program include:
If you are currently pending a criminal charge for DUI/DWI in Texas, it is important that you retain skilled legal counsel in your case as quickly as possible. At the Law Office of David D. White, PLLC, we can help you with every aspect of your case, represent you at all courtroom proceedings, and work to achieve the best possible result on your behalf.
For a free case evaluation and legal consultation with a criminal defense attorney, please call us at 512-369-3737 or contact us online.